Sim Infrastructure in Place

An exciting day! I found a better working environment for sims, and very quickly was able to get some elementary particle sims up and running. I like to think I finally actually did something noteworthy by creating an easy to use infrastructure that allows me to investigate and test mathematical concepts such as the unitary twist field theory that are far too difficult to solve analytically, even with simplifying assumptions. If I had chosen physics as a career path, one major area for contribution is setting up new environments or mathematical tools that allow others to build and test theories.
I have been writing a C program but it was taking forever and I was bogging down on the UI and result display. So I took a look at the Unity gaming SDK and realized this might be a perfect way to get past that and quickly into theory implementation. It more than met my expectations!
CERN has nothing on me! Next up are Petavolt collisions! Well, not really, first I have a lot of model generation to do to truly represent the precursor field theory I’ve detailed in previous posts. In addition, the display is very coarse and needs to be refined–the cubes are nodes in discretized points on the twist.  I want to get fancier but for now it’s pretty amazing to watch as the loop twists and turns.  The funny and amazing thing is, though, I really could do a collision sim in a few hours. This infrastructure makes it very easy to set up interaction math and boundary conditions. Maybe my theory is hogwash, but this infrastructure isn’t–could I have finally made a usable contribution to science? If any of you are interested in this, send me a comment or email and maybe I’ll detail what I’m doing here.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

