Constraints on a Twist Field Loop–Big New Insight!

I’ve been working out the geometry of what a twist field loop in a background state would look like. At the same time, my confidence in this field’s quantization model has increased. I can see clearly that any geometric scheme to limit particle mass/sizes has to use an orientable twist field with a background state. This provides a very clear and simple path to quantization–a field orientation tends toward the background state, thus forcing a twist to only have a fixed integer number of rotations. I really feel like this is the only simple way to model our observed quantization such as E=hv–but I have absolutely no clue how to prove it.

How I wish I could verify that particles have a twist and a discontinuity! Right now, I could be piddling my time away on useless thinking and have no way to verify if I’m even remotely on the right path. I’ve spent so much time thinking about this over the last 24 years or so–and suspect that my amateur efforts aren’t worth the time I’ve given them. I’m a classic Pinocchio story–how I wish I could be A Real Scientist! But I don’t have the university training (other than a year of quantum mechanics–went to a lecture once by R Feynman, who I could tell was an outstanding instructor among other things) nor university mentor contacts, and after a long (and well paying, just to count my blessings) engineering career, I don’t think I’m suddenly going to be a Real Physicist!

But you know what, I may not be the real deal, yet the thrill of discovery has still been available to me as I come upon new ideas or new knowledge. How cool is that–and a gift I should not take for granted given that those of you that have gone through the real training paid dearly in time and struggle to understand this material.

That just happened!

Here’s my story–The major work I’ve been doing right now is further constraining how the unitary (magnitude-free) orientable vector field could form twists, either linear or closed loops. If this field model works, we have a workable environment that could produce our particle zoo. I’ve been uncovering the necessary requirements and constraints on what this field would have to be in the last several posts.

Several new restrictions have become clear. One very important one is the twist loop must have an I orientation at the center (the I dimension of R3 + I is the background state). If it does not, it would have to have an asymmetric vector angle distribution and that would have to make the particle’s soliton unstable. You can see this by asking what symmetric solutions exist for a twist in R3, and the answer is none. Since curving twists occupy all three dimensions of R3, the only orientation possible that doesn’t point in a specific R3 direction is in the I direction, otherwise the loop cannot be symmetric, the center has to point in a R3 direction, giving it an unintended moment. I suppose it’s possible that you could have an unstable particle center pointing in some linear combination of the R3 basis vectors, but the chance for that directionality to show up in an experiment or causing some sort of a non-zero moment is extremely high. This is really unlikely to be true since magnetic and physical moments of subatomic particles have been done to extraordinary precision and show no moment.

In order for a twist to curve in a consistent way, there has to be a normal force. the background state force can’t be used here since the twist and the curvature reside in R3. The only other force we have in this theory is the neigborhood effect force (see previous posts), which has the path of the twist pushing through a tilted vector field. As I mentioned, for symmetry reasons there has to be a central I direction vector, and the loop twist itself has to be in R3. Similarly, a linear twist has the ends tied to the I direction, but the twist itself is in R3. The problem is, I can’t find a clean way to motivate twist curvature for the closed loop.

Here’s the issue–this tilting vector orientation (to I) I’ve been talking about would indeed cause curvature, but why would a ring have tilting vector orientation at the circumference of the loop? The tilting vector orientation to a central I vector is cool because its effect will be symmetric for all of R3, so closed loops should be possible regardless of translation or rotation of the loop. But when you look closer, it’s not clear that there will be a tilting vector orientation at the loop. Yes, there will indeed be a central I direction vector–but for any angular slice of the loop (i.e. a slice represented by an angle who’s vertex is at the center of the loop) there will also be another I direction vector outside the loop–remember, the loop is surrounded by a background state I. For any delta slice of the loop, the I orientation will be symmetric at the center and outside the loop and thus there will be no significant tilt force at the loop circumference.

Admittedly, there is only one point region with a central I directed vector on the inside, versus a whole ring of I direction vectors on the outside, so a hand-wavy guess says there will be a second order effect that will indeed tilt the ring vectors inwards. Having a large number of I direction vectors on one side and only one point on the inside would imply faster recovery to the I direction on the outside, thus implying more tilt on the inside. But right now that guess seems weak–and then a blazing insight suddenly hit me.

Twists have to be surrounded by a discontinuity sheath. In the case of the linear twist, the sheath is a cylinder, with I direction tie-downs at each end. In the case of the ring, the sheath is a torus. There is no way to break through that sheath (up to the energy of the twist), so as long as the twist cycle time (the E part of E=hv) cannot change, there is no need to introduce centrifugal forces to confine the size of the ring. I’ve been trying too hard to solve the wrong problem! What a beautiful insight! This whole twist theory may be fake (not a model of reality), but still yields some exciting and fun insights as to how maybe it could work! The funny thing is how much my work is starting to look a lot like the tubes of string theory…

Agemoz

Leave a Reply

