assumptions definitions

Here’s the most important part for anyone who tries to think honestly: recognize, state, and assess your assumptions. That is very hard to do accurately, and I can’t do it in one little journal entry. But to think clearly and attempt to draw conclusions that in some way match or aid in perceiving reality, it is necessary to first undergo this step. And doggone it, there is actually an important step that has to be done even before doing this–define what an assumption is. I’d probably benefit a lot from studying some philosophy, but let me take this path for a while just to get started.

Note that I do recognize that my Rules of Engagement in the previous entry contains a *lot* of assumptions!! Things will get rather recursive and thus difficult to extract meaning from this thinking, but bear with me as I try to set up a foundation for this artifice. The Rules of Engagement simply define my entry point into this journal of thinking, and can be modified later should further conclusions warrant.

So–to start. Definitions at this point in time:

*Thinking* is a means of creating an abstraction in my mind.

An *abstraction* is an assembly of assumptions and corollaries. The architecture of this abstraction will be constructed from assumptions in a way that observes the principle of *most likeliness* as viewed by me.

An *assumption* is an abstraction for which I have not created a sub-architecture–that I have chosen to be a fundamental component for creating abstractions. Assumptions can change, although they should be chosen carefully because entire abstraction architectures can be demolished (invalidated).

The *most likeliness* principle in this journal will be tough to define universally. Our minds have a good instinct for describing something as most likely but defining that concept is rather complex. I will use this method that feels very clear to me– Among multiple abstractions, a most likely abstraction is one who’s imagined behavior most consistently matches observed real behavior or characteristics, that is, there is not another abstraction that has more or better matching to observed real behavior.

And lastly, and most importantly–a definition that is going to compose a branch of my thinking for at least a few more entries:

*real* or *reality* is sensory input. Believe it or not, I DONT think it means any more than that! I don’t think it’s possible to accurately think if any more assumptions about what reality is are made. This is so critical and sets the stage for everything that is to come. This sensory input may or may not have a time component (ie, it could be a snapshot in time, or could be behavior observed (sensed) over time. The definition of reality is closely coupled to the idea of what my mind is. I’ll go there (what is my mind) probably somewhere along the way to uncovering my idea of what reality is. But that’s enough for now.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

